Peter Dutton to lead Liberals as Nationals consider replacing Barnaby Joyce over net zero stance | Australian election 2022

The National party will spill its leadership positions next Monday as the Liberals debate whether Peter Dutton’s deputy should be Jane Hume or Sussan Ley.

As the Coalition continues to grapple with the fallout from Saturday’s election rout amid conflicting views about how to reposition in response, Anthony Albanese was sworn in as Australia’s 31st prime minister before leaving for Tokyo and his first meeting with Joe Biden and key regional allies.

Before departing for Japan, the new Labor prime minister sought confidence and supply assurances from crossbenchers. He confirmed he would shortly appoint a new departmental head rather than work with the former Liberal party adviser and Scott Morrison appointee, Phil Gaetjens.

Back in Canberra, the Nationals were jostling ahead of a leadership spill. Many of them were furious when Barnaby Joyce signaled on Monday that his party could abandon its support for net zero emissions after the Coalition’s defeat.

The previous Nationals leader, Michael McCormack, had not ruled out another tilt at the top job, David Littleproud, one of the strongest internal supporters of action to address climate change, also had aspirations.

Littleproud on Monday cut across Joyce by declaring the party’s net zero commitment accompanied by funding for regional infrastructure was “sensible policy”.

He told Sky News that Matt Canavan’s campaign declarations that net zero was “dead” had negative ramifications for the Liberals and caused the Nationals problems in several regional contests, including a savage negative swing against the party in the provincial Victorian seat of Nicholls.

Dutton, meanwhile, had the numbers to take the opposition leadership. While several figures had signaled interest, party sources said the Queenslander’s new deputy was likely to be either former environment minister Ley or Victorian senator Hume.

Some moderates were unhappy with Ley because she was seen as being aligned too closely with Morrison.

Labor will resolve its new cabinet lineup early next week. There was a view in the right faction that the Senate veteran Don Farrell should become deputy leader in that chamber with a more senior cabinet post.

Sign up to receive the top stories from Guardian Australia every morning.

Peter Dutton

The finance minister, Katy Gallagher, who served as the manager of opposition business in the Senate in the last parliament, was likely to continue with that role. Gallagher said the Senate deputy leadership would be a decision for the caucus. Still, she added that “obviously gender equality is a big issue and Labor has had a very proud record, and Anthony had shown a lot of leadership on that”.

“This is an area where you will see a big difference between the new government and the previous government – that’s how serious the prime minister is about it and making sure we send a strong message around the fact women are respected and will take their rightful place in parliament,” Gallagher said.

Albanese was said to be keen to reward strong performers during the campaign, including Jason Clare and Queensland senator Murray Watt. The defeat of Kristina Keneally and Terri Butler opened the scope for Albanese to undertake a more broad-ranging reshuffle in the incoming Labor ministry once the Australian Electoral Commission completed the election count.

Labor was on track to form a majority government. Current leads in Lyons (Tasmania), Macnamara (South Melbourne), and Richmond (northern New South Wales) suggest Labor would probably reach 76 seats.

A further two seats were still in play: Deakin, where Labor candidate Matt Gregg was still leading Liberal Michael Sukkar by a margin that had eroded to just 59 votes, and Brisbane, where Labor’s Madonna Jarrett and Greens Stephen Bates are neck and neck for second place, with the leader to replace Trevor Evans.

Earlier on Monday, former treasurer Josh Frydenberg and Wentworth MP Dave Sharma conceded their contests to teal independent opponents after fellow Liberals Jason Falinski and Tim Wilson acknowledged over the weekend.

Frydenberg said it was an “incredible privilege” to have served as an MP for 12 years in “a community whose diversity, tolerance, and values reflect the very best of Australia”.

He congratulated Monique Ryan on her win, wished her well “for the term ahead”, and indicated he looked forward “to spending more time with my beautiful family”.

Sharma congratulated the Labor government and independent challenger Allegra Spender, whose lead he said he did not expect to change markedly despite 40,000 votes still to be counted.

Sharma said he was pleased to have helped shape Australia’s response to China’s growing assertiveness in our region. He told Australia faced “a more challenging global outlook” and could not afford “myopia and complacency in our national political discourse”.

Bella E. McMahon
I am a freelance writer who started blogging in college. I am fascinated by human nature, politics, culture, technology, and pop culture. In addition to my writing, I enjoy exploring new places, trying out new things, and engaging in conversations with new people. Some of my favorite hobbies are reading, playing music, making crafts, writing, traveling, and spending time with my family.